The Casting Society of America Announces its 2017 Artios Awards Nominees for Feature Film Categories

Final Ballots Distributed Today, Voting Closes January 8th 

Los Angeles, CA – January 3, 2017 – The Casting Society of America (CSA) is pleased to announce nominations for its 32ndAnnual Artios Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Casting in Feature Film Categories. Nominations for Television, Theatre, Short Films and Short Form/Web Series were announced in September 2016. CSA members have received final film ballots and voting will close on Sunday, January 8, 2017. Winners of all categories will be unveiled in dual ceremonies taking place in Los Angeles and New York on Thursday, January 19, 2017.

Actor and Comedian Joel McHale is set to emcee the Los Angeles ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, and Michael Urie will host the New York ceremony at Stage 48 in Hell’s Kitchen. Annette Bening will be honored with the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement, and casting director Nina Gold will receive the Hoyt Bowers Award, presented by J.J. Abrams, at the LA ceremony. The Public Theater will take home the newly named Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award at the NY ceremony.

All nominees were submitted by CSA members and met eligibility requirements for projects that were released from June 1, 2015 – May 31, 2016. The CSA has added the foreign language film category to this year’s honors.

The full list of feature film nominees are:


“Deadpool”  Ronna Kress, Jennifer Page (Location Casting), Corinne Clark  (Location Casting)

“Hail, Caesar!”  Ellen Chenoweth, Susanne Scheel (Associate)

“La La Land”  Deborah Aquila, Tricia Wood

“Rules Don’t Apply”  David Rubin, Melissa Pryor (Associate)

“Whiskey Tango Foxtrot”  Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, Jo Edna Boldin (Location Casting), Conrad Woolfe (Associate), Marie A.K. McMaster (Associate)


“Arrival”  Francine Maisler, Lucie Robitaille (Location Casting)

“Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”   Fiona Weir, Jim Carnahan (Location Casting)

“Hidden Figures”  Victoria Thomas, Jackie Burch (Location Casting), Bonnie Grisan (Associate)

“Nocturnal Animals”  Francine Maisler

“The Girl on the Train”  Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)


“20th Century Women”  Laura Rosenthal, Mark Bennett

“Bad Moms”  Cathy Sandrich Gelfond, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

“Café Society”  Juliet Taylor, Patricia DiCerto, Meghan Rafferty (Associate)

“Hell or High Water”  Richard Hicks, Jo Edna Boldin, Chris Redondo (Associate), Marie A.K. McMaster (Associate)

“The Edge of Seventeen”  Melissa Kostenbauder, Coreen Mayrs (Location Casting), Heike Brandstatter (Location Casting)


“Captain Fantastic”   Jeanne McCarthy, Angelique Midthunder (Location Casting), Amey Rene (Location Casting)

“Jackie”  Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Jessica Kelly (Location Casting)

“Lion”  Kirsty McGregor

“Loving”  Francine Maisler, Erica Arvold (Location Casting), Anne N. Chapman (Location Casting), Michelle Kelly (Associate)

“Manchester By the Sea”  Douglas Aibel, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)


“Christine”  Douglas Aibel, Stephanie Holbrook, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting), Blair Foster (Associate)

“Goat”  Susan Shopmaker, D. Lynn Meyers (Location Casting)

“Hello, My Name is Doris”  Sunday Boling, Meg Morman

“Moonlight”  Yesi Ramirez

“White Girl”  Jessica Daniels


“Finding Dory”  Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

“Moana”  Jamie Sparer Roberts, Rachel Sutton (Location Casting)

“The Jungle Book”  Sarah Halley Finn, Tamara Hunter (Associate)

“The Little Prince”  Sarah Halley Finn, Tamara Hunter (Associate)

“Zootopia”  Jamie Sparer Roberts


For more information, please visit:

About the Artios Awards

Presented annually, the Artios Awards are given to CSA members using the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. Named for the Greek word meaning “perfectly fitted,” the Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and the ceremony was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel, with 500 industry leaders in attendance. The New York awards were first given in 1988.

About the Casting Society of America

The Casting Society of America (CSA) was founded in February of 1982 with the intention of establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the casting field and providing its members with a support organization to further their goals and protect their common interests. CSA currently boasts more than 725 members. CSA Casting Directors and Associates work around the world, with members based in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, Asia and Africa. The CSA is a global resource for producers, directors and creative teams seeking casting professionals, while promoting the image of casting directors and associates worldwide, engaging in a number of charitable activities, and supporting its members by sharing important and helpful professional information. For more information on the Casting Society of America, please visit

You may also like